Please don't adblock plus me bro

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Home Run Catch?

  1. #1
    Senior Member scotty216brs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    3,505
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Home Run Catch?

    Anyone watching the Red Sox/Indians game just see this?

    Hanley Ramirez just hit a bomb to CF, and Austin Jackson ran back to the wall up against the bullpen and caught the ball 2ft over the wall [robbed him of a HR] and fell over the wall into the bullpen (held onto the ball). It was ruled an out but IMO it should be a HR because he fell into home run territory after the catch. What's the official ruling on this? Did the umps get it right?
    Boston Red Sox 2013 World Champions! #BostonStrong

    -Thanks to JBel4331 for the sig

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Mystic, CT
    Posts
    1,088
     Kyouk20
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They do call it an out, I can't recall exactly but remember in 2013 I think it was in the playoffs vs Detroit someone went ass over tea kettle into the bullpen and it was an out. Or Jeter diving into the stands, more recently judge, Rizzo on the tarp and into the seats a couple years ago etc... I agree Scotty, to be an out the player and ball need to stay on the playing field.

  3. #3
    Senior Member scotty216brs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    3,505
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bstanwood View Post
    They do call it an out, I can't recall exactly but remember in 2013 I think it was in the playoffs vs Detroit someone went ass over tea kettle into the bullpen and it was an out. Or Jeter diving into the stands, more recently judge, Rizzo on the tarp and into the seats a couple years ago etc... I agree Scotty, to be an out the player and ball need to stay on the playing field.
    Difference with those is that those are in foul territory and the catch tonight was in fair [home run] territory...I guess the ruling to me doesn't make sense, lol.
    Boston Red Sox 2013 World Champions! #BostonStrong

    -Thanks to JBel4331 for the sig

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would call it an out, he first caught it on the field of play, but then momentum carried him over, right call imho.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Senior Member Hendersonfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Buckeye Country
    Posts
    4,039
     Hendersonfan
     Hendersonfan24
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I once asked an umpire during our softball games. There is an area that is out of play, where you could still catch a ball. He said his interpretation of the rule was you must remain in the field of play. I could catch the ball in play, but if my momentum took me out of the field of play, he would call it as such. Same with a home run. If my momentum took me over the fence, he would call it a homerun. If you lean over the fence and catch it, it's an out. If I were to lean over the fence, catch the ball, then fall over the fence he would call it foul or a home run depending on where the ball was hit.
    Ballz In The Kitchen <<<<<<< LINK


  6. #6
    Member Doerrcollector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    787
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bstanwood View Post
    They do call it an out, I can't recall exactly but remember in 2013 I think it was in the playoffs vs Detroit someone went ass over tea kettle into the bullpen and it was an out. Or Jeter diving into the stands, more recently judge, Rizzo on the tarp and into the seats a couple years ago etc... I agree Scotty, to be an out the player and ball need to stay on the playing field.
    That was Torii Hunter who went into the bullpen in 2013 and it was a home run because he missed the catch. It led to a famous shot with the Boston cop celebrating.



    As for this one, I think it was an out. He made the catch with his body in the field of play and his momentum carried him out.

    However it's doesn't matter because CHRISTIAN freaking VASQUEZ with the walk off bomb! Wow what a game!

    Thanks,
    Jeff

  7. #7
    Senior Member vwnut13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    7,997
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by scotty216brs View Post
    Difference with those is that those are in foul territory and the catch tonight was in fair [home run] territory...I guess the ruling to me doesn't make sense, lol.

    So wouldn't it be a foul ball instead of an out?


    As long as you aren't out of play before you catch the ball, it's an out.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Pinbreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Aliso Viejo, CA
    Posts
    9,205
     Pinbreaker
     pinbreaker
    Mentioned
    116 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's happened before..



    But for it to be an out, the player has to come back on the field. Jay had asked the umpires earlier in the game a hypothetical question about what would happen if he caught a ball over the fence like he did..

    Needless to say he made the out..

    http://m.mlb.com/cutfour/2015/07/29/...o-rob-home-run
    Last edited by Pinbreaker; 08-02-2017 at 01:45 AM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3,660
     piledriver1
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The only thing that bothers me about the Buhner play is that the ump couldn't see if he held onto the ball or not. There is the possibility he might've bobbled it or it came out when he landed.

    But yeah, I've always understood the rule to be that if the ball is in the glove it doesn't matter where the body lands.
    Looking for 2011 Topps Marquee Museum autographs, rare Frank Thomases and Grady Sizemores I don't have

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is not football, feet do not have to tap inbounds.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Super Moderator metallicalex777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, Wa
    Posts
    13,634
     metallicaalex777
     metallicalex777
    Mentioned
    293 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just found this in the MLB baseball rules (here is a link to it as well): http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/downloads/y20...the_batter.pdf

    6.05 A batter is out when—
    (a) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder;

    Rule 6.05(a) Comment: A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch,
    and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. A fielder, in order to make a catch on a foul ball
    nearing a dugout or other out-of-play area (such as the stands), must have one or both feet on or over
    the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout
    or in any other out-of-play area. Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls
    into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead. Status of runners shall be as
    described in Rule 7.04(c) Comment.
    King Felix Hernandez Collector!!!

    My Felix Hernandez PC:
    Alex Alex's (metallicalex777) PC - Felix Hernandez Album

  12. #12
    Senior Member death2redemptions's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    The Carolina on the Southern side
    Posts
    8,140
     ddavisaz
    Mentioned
    70 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by smapdi View Post
    But yeah, I've always understood the rule to be that if the ball is in the glove it doesn't matter where the body lands.
    This is what I've always assumed.

    Quote Originally Posted by metallicalex777 View Post
    Rule 6.05(a) Comment: A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch,
    and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. A fielder, in order to make a catch on a foul ball
    nearing a dugout or other out-of-play area (such as the stands), must have one or both feet on or over
    the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout
    or in any other out-of-play area. Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls
    into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead. Status of runners shall be as
    described in Rule 7.04(c) Comment.
    The Rule 6.05(a) comments only appear to be in reference to balls caught in foul territory. They only mention balls caught in dugout or other out-of-play areas but nothing about balls caught in fair (home run) territory. Am I interpreting this wrong? The wording is a bit confusing.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    must have one or both feet on or over the playing surface

    You jump the fence or jump into the stands or dugout to catch it.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Freedom Card Board mobile app

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •