Please don't adblock plus me bro

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28

Thread: whats a good scanner?

  1. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    212
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's a comparison between my scanner, which just may not be the best scanner for cards vs. the the cam scanner app.

    HP Envy 7640 Scanner (again, probably not the best):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Scanner.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	141.3 KB 
ID:	76172

    Cam Scanner App:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	17.145a.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	1.32 MB 
ID:	76173

    For what I want to do, I'll still with the Cam Scanner App from here on out and won't invest money into another scanner.

  2. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    212
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's one more example.

    My desktop scanner:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Scanner.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	87.9 KB 
ID:	76174

    Cam Scanner App:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	17.114a.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	375.4 KB 
ID:	76175

  3. #18
    Junior Member Michael.petkus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    135
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, Iím sold on Cam Scanner! Just got the app, here was my first attempt. Very cool!



    Sent from my iPhone using Freedom Card Board

  4. #19
    Junior Member Michael.petkus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    135
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Such a cool app.


    Sent from my iPhone using Freedom Card Board

  5. #20
    Senior Member michaelstepper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    southeast Alaska
    Posts
    7,712
     griffey-collector
    Mentioned
    169 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    cam scanner app has worked great. It certainly has it's uses. I do prefer kirbyaddicts desktop scanner pic though.

    fwiw I've redone all my 01, 09 and sweet sigs using the app. they turned out great I think.. but again I'm a stickler for lighting and that has been a frustration for myself.

  6. #21
    Junior Member forgerelli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    340
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I bought an Epson V600 scanner just for scanning cards and for the life of me I cannot get it scan the entire image area on the scanner bed. So the bottom or top of the card keeps getting cut off. I just spent 2 hours searching for a solution online but found nothing that worked.

    Can anyone help me with this?

    Scott F
    Mariano Rivera Super Collector. Always buying rare Mo's - PSA's, Auto's, Patches, Printing Plates, or any other rare Mo's. I PAY MORE THAN ANYONE FOR MARIANO'S I NEED.

  7. #22
    Junior Member dictoresno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    39
     dictoresno1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by forgerelli View Post
    I bought an Epson V600 scanner just for scanning cards and for the life of me I cannot get it scan the entire image area on the scanner bed. So the bottom or top of the card keeps getting cut off. I just spent 2 hours searching for a solution online but found nothing that worked.

    Can anyone help me with this?

    Scott F
    on my Canon scanner, I had to turn off a setting that tried to detect borders of the object being scanned, and let it scan full platen then crop manually.

  8. #23
    Junior Member forgerelli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    340
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've tried changing every setting that I could, but the scanner just will not scan the full image area. It does a great job of scanning slabs, which is the main reason I got it, but only being able to scan 3 cards at a time is a huge pain in the a$$.

    Scott F
    Mariano Rivera Super Collector. Always buying rare Mo's - PSA's, Auto's, Patches, Printing Plates, or any other rare Mo's. I PAY MORE THAN ANYONE FOR MARIANO'S I NEED.

  9. #24
    Junior Member dictoresno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    39
     dictoresno1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by forgerelli View Post
    I've tried changing every setting that I could, but the scanner just will not scan the full image area. It does a great job of scanning slabs, which is the main reason I got it, but only being able to scan 3 cards at a time is a huge pain in the a$$.

    Scott F
    what kind of scanner is it. does it offer a customized scan setting that you can set it to full platen.

  10. #25
    Junior Member forgerelli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    340
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's an Epson V600. On the actual scanner there's a "document max" arrow where the images get cut off. I'm guessing this is the way it was designed, Which I think is really, really stupid. My cheap all in one scanner the full area so I can put up to 8 cards on at once without them being cut off. The "high quality" scanner only fits 3 cards. Asinine.

    Scott F
    Mariano Rivera Super Collector. Always buying rare Mo's - PSA's, Auto's, Patches, Printing Plates, or any other rare Mo's. I PAY MORE THAN ANYONE FOR MARIANO'S I NEED.

  11. #26
    Senior Member WCTYSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    6,545
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by forgerelli View Post
    It's an Epson V600. On the actual scanner there's a "document max" arrow where the images get cut off. I'm guessing this is the way it was designed, Which I think is really, really stupid. My cheap all in one scanner the full area so I can put up to 8 cards on at once without them being cut off. The "high quality" scanner only fits 3 cards. Asinine.

    Scott F
    I've had two Epson scanners in the past, one I really liked and one I hated. What made the difference between the two for me was the software that they came with.
    There's a horse loose in the hospital

  12. #27
    Senior Member MOFNY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    4,788
     marinersfanfromny
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use the CanoScan 9000f Mark 2. It's expensive, but the quality is usually fantastic:



    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 34907866673_8683cab4bd_c.jpg  
    Last edited by MOFNY; 03-31-2018 at 07:06 PM.
    http://royoswalt44.com/ - Over 1,500 different cards listed

  13. #28
    Senior Member michaelstepper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    southeast Alaska
    Posts
    7,712
     griffey-collector
    Mentioned
    169 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    that masterpieces Oswalt is an awesome card

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •