Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Best option for pre-draft players?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Topnotchsy

Featured Contributor, The best players in history?
Aug 7, 2008
Hey,

I've been prospecting for many years, but never really bought anyone before they were drafted (outside of foreigners like Darvish.)

Looking this year there there seem to be a number of options. Topps USA, Bowman Platinum and Topps Chrome all have players who have not yet been drafted (not sure if there are any other sets.) Topps is on-card, as is Bowman Platinum (sharp looking cards IMO) though Topps Chrome is not.

Just curious what people's thoughts are on the different sets as far as personal appeal and ROI? From what I have noticed the most expensive right now is Topps Chrome, then Bowman Platinum and the Topps USA cards are the cheapest.

Thanks!

Topnotchsy

Aug 7, 2008
Russ S. said:
ANY USA On Card Autos.
Don't like the Topps Chrome I guess? I'm trying to get a feel for the market because the Topps Chrome seem to be the favorites based on pricing.

Russ S.

Aug 10, 2008
VA / DC / MD
Topnotchsy said:
Russ S. said:
ANY USA On Card Autos.
Don't like the Topps Chrome I guess? I'm trying to get a feel for the market because the Topps Chrome seem to be the favorites based on pricing.
Depends on year and player.
Personally, I prefer on card autos, but sometimes that isn't always an option.

Also, if the say the Topps Chrome was this year, and the USA auto was 2-3 years prior, I'm old school, so the old rules of XRC and players first cards will always be considered the most desirable to me.

Topnotchsy

Aug 7, 2008
Russ S. said:
Topnotchsy said:
[quote="Russ S.":292fqni3]ANY USA On Card Autos.
Depends on year and player.
Personally, I prefer on card autos, but sometimes that isn't always an option.