Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Does anyone here work for a non profit or have experience with fundraising?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

elmalo

Feb 19, 2010
A friend of mine in Colombia started and runs a youth baseball program. He contacted me today asking me if I could help them with fundraising and or the procurement of equipment such as gloves, bats, balls, cleats, tees, etc. I want to help him but I have no experience in finding donors/groups who donate. I was going to send out letters to all of the MLB teams, some of the local schools in my area and some of the latino charity orginazations in my area. I was also going to send out letters to sporting goods companies seeking donations of equipment. Another thing that I was thinking of doing was going to local businesses and seeing if I could leave some kind of donation jar, however Im not sure of the legality of that. My question is, does anyone on here have experience with non profit/ fundraising? If so do you have any advice on the things that I could do? Any advice would be appreciated.

This is a segment that was done on the news about the program. I apologize that it is in spanish.

Musial Collector

Aug 7, 2008
Fund raising is a TOUGH venture, so be prepared for a TON of rejections. Its not that people/businesses/corporations don't want to donate, its just that they get asked a LOT for donations, so they cant say yes to everyone. If you get 1 out of 10 to say yes, consider yourself lucky.