Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

CONCLUSION: There are no truly premium plastic album sheets

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RustyGreerFan

Jun 10, 2010
Gastonia, NC
I've posted about album sheets before (or as I've called them since I was in grade school, plastics), but I've finally made a decision. There are no truly premium plastics.

I enjoy displaying my favorite cards in plastics and like to flip through my albums from time to time. That's how I enjoy collecting. So I've got some experience with plastics.

It's pretty apparent that Ultra Pro Platinum plastics are the best. I've tried a couple others and they are definitely lesser quality. The biggest beef I have with Ultra Pro is that even from an unsealed box, not all the sheets are crystal clear. Many of them have spots or streaks apparently from the production process. Despite this, Ultra Pro Platinum sheets are definitely premium comparatively.

But because of what plastics are, or are made of, there will always be drawbacks until a brand new kind of plastics is invented or used for collecting.

1. Plastics via static(?) attract dust, lint, etc like a magnet. I've seen the folders that are enclosed, but I doubt they are any match for the attraction power of plastics if you're like me and like to flip through your albums.

2. Plastics get scuffed. This is what baffled me for so long. I could take a perfect and crystal clear sheet from a brand new box of Ultra Pro Platinum, and after a couple of times flipping through my album, I'd notice scuffing. How did this happen? Apparently as pages touch each other and slide against each other they scuff each other. Even if you are careful, scuff happens.