Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Are baseball cards a sanctuary for anyone else???

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gmsieb

Apr 19, 2011
(long read and written at 3 am, and in some pain---please forgive typos and even errors)

I write this as a thank you to the hobby and my wife.

I have been selling cards on ebay for close to 17 years amd before that it was the aol message boards. When my daughter
was born, my wife asked me to quit with cards and put my time into her, so I did. I had very little to do with ebay for quite a
few years.

About 3 years ago, I got hit with something I had never faced. A person, who had never broken a bone, never been sick in any
major way, was losing weight like crazy and couldn't eat without being in pain. I ended up losing 90 lbs in around 7 months.
Many trips to the doctors and they still couldnt confirm what was wrong. The worst part, was the way I was handling it. I was so
stressed, I was killing myself. They tried me on a few meds for stress, but my brain hates them and they made me worse. I sat there
one day, totally assuming I'd leave my wife and kids and go die in a psych ward. After swithcing around from doctor to doctor, I finally
found one who got me to a counselor who has changed my life. The counseling is great and we have trained my brain to look at
problems, logically, instead of emotionally, which is huge, But she also suggested I find a hobby, to keep my mind busy.

I knew the hobby, right away, and my daughter was 7 or 8 at the time. I prayed about it and went home to talk to my wife. She thought
about it and said yes, didn't even think twice. I think I lost money that year for the first time, but it didn't matter, the hobby was saving my life,