Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Best Moment Autographing of My Life!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Joeed10

Aug 10, 2008
I've been doing In Person autographs since I was 8 or 9 years old so about 25+ years of doing this. I've been able to meet a lot of people and I've met Kevin Durant, who is my favorite current athlete, several times in the past. But he recently was able to blow any other great moment I have had away and reassure me that there are real hero's and why I do this hobby.

First I need to set up the story. As I mentioned I have me Durant a few times. Last year I began dating my now fiancée. She has a 5 year old son named Jace. Jace has Cystic Fibrosis so there are a few times he misses out on things in life. Well over the time Jace has known me he has heard me mention KD or Kevin Durant. Jace thought KD was my best friend and even told his mom one night KD was his other father. Well Jace and I both have KD shoes and wear his clothes. In December the Thunder came to town and Jace was sick so he missed out. Since December he has asked many times "When are we going to meet KD?" So...

Early this month the Thunder came to town. I knew they would arrive the day before the game. So his mom checked Jace out of school early on the day they would arrive. We made the hour drive to the team hotel. The entire hour Jace was asking "Is it time?" "Where is KD?" And we practiced what he should say. When we got to the hotel we waited outside by the barriers the hotel had set up. You could see the excitement building as Jace waited.