Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Have You Ever Overpaid on Purpose?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Gwynn545

Aug 29, 2008
North Seattle
Let me start by saying that for being a player collector, I am cheap. I have over 3,200 different Gwynn cards, and I would say I have gotten a great deal on a large majority of them. I know the "price guide" is only a guide, and I know many people on these boards hate the "price guide", but just using it as a reference, this is the first time I have purposely paid more than "Beckett" on a card.
BV $12
Paid $15
emeraldgame.jpg

Gwynn545

Aug 29, 2008
North Seattle
cgilmo said:
i dont know what any of my cards "book"

I knew I'd get a response like that, but I've been collecting Gwynn for 20+ years, back before Ebay, when Beckett was very important. It's a habit maybe only old school collectors are influenced by?

theplasticman

Nov 21, 2008
Yes. If I've missed out on a card so many times over the years, I tend to get a bit more aggressive in bidding the next time it comes up... or if I am close to finishing off an entire year on one of my players.

Gwynn545

Aug 29, 2008
North Seattle
THat's it Plasticman! Missing out on cards! I am getting to a point now with some cards where I just want to get it and stop worrying about it! I've been patient for so long, I hope I am not losing my touch! (My wife will kill me!)

theplasticman

Nov 21, 2008
gwynn5453l4u said:
THat's it Plasticman! Missing out on cards! I am getting to a point now with some cards where I just want to get it and stop worrying about it! I've been patient for so long, I hope I am not losing my touch! (My wife will kill me!)

Same philosophy here. I just know what I am willing to pay. Lots of great prices lately. Nice pick up. I overpaid by a few bucks for my last Eddie Murray Epix card.

KC37