Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Anyone ever get paid using MoneyPak/Green Dot?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Topnotchsy

Featured Contributor, The best players in history?
Aug 7, 2008
Someone bought some cards off of be and wanted to pay by sending me codes for MoneyPaks. I've never used the service before and while everything I've read seems to be fine, I was hoping for info form someone whose used it since I'm a little timid after my recently issue with being scammed.

Also, Green Dot is asking for my SS number in the process. This seemed strange to me since Paypal already has that info on my account. Is there any concern related to that?

Thanks

PoseyBuster

Banned
Jul 17, 2013
Well, since Money Pack/Green Dot is one of the only prepaid cards you can upload to Paypal, have him upload it to a paypal and pay you.

Pine Tar

Mar 1, 2009
Oswego,Illinois
Someone bought some cards off of be and wanted to pay by sending me codes for MoneyPaks. I've never used the service before and while everything I've read seems to be fine, I was hoping for info form someone whose used it since I'm a little timid after my recently issue with being scammed.

Also, Green Dot is asking for my SS number in the process. This seemed strange to me since Paypal already has that info on my account. Is there any concern related to that?

Thanks

Scams galore have happened using green dot. Stay for way from it if you can

Topnotchsy

Featured Contributor, The best players in history?
Aug 7, 2008
Thanks for all the responses to this point!

MoneyPak is just like cash. Once a code is redeemed, it's gone. And there's no way to track it.

I wouldn't put my SS anywhere near a service I wasn't 100% trusting of.

That's what it looked like to me which seemed to mean that there was no risk on my end but I'm not certain.