Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

John Smoltz 1988 Fleer Update Glossy his true Rookie card?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

championMan

Apr 16, 2009
Hof Collector told me that the best RC of John Smoltz is 1988 Fleer Update Glossy.
35391_709x1199.jpg
This is the only MLB license card Smoltz release during 1988. In addition, the glossy was less produced than the regular version. But Beckett list 1989 as John RC without (!). I am kind of new to this, what is XRC?

The picture of the card was also Smoltz 1st debut game against the Mets. Did U know his first strikeout was Darryl Strawbery?

Brewer Andy

Aug 10, 2008
XRC is short for "extended rookie card". Back in the days before prospects had cards produced 5 years before they ever debuted that was the distinction Beckett used to denote late season "traded" or box set cards versus rookies that were issued in packs the following season

r2d2

Aug 24, 2008
Mexico City
Like Brewer Andy said, if they had a Topps Traded or Fleer Update before a regular Topps, Donruss or Fleer, they were classified as XRC. Also if we are very picky the glossy wouldn't be considered a RC as it is from a parallel set.

DaClyde

Jan 17, 2010
Huntsville, AL
So for modern collectors, isn't the question really just, "What is the most expensive early card of player X?" The issue of what card is their rookie, "true" or otherwise is basically irrelevant in the hobby since the useless RC logo was introduced. Everyone should just be straight about exactly what they're trying to say. Plainly, no one asking the question actually wants the answer here to be Smoltz's 1989 cards because they are absolutely worthless.

smapdi

Aug 7, 2008