Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Favorite boxed set card of the late 80s/early 90s and why?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mrmopar

Jan 19, 2010
I bought a lot of those late 80s boxed sets when they were new. This was the tail end of my first wave of collecting, right before I graduated HS and joined the Navy. I would pretty much stop buying new stuff around 1988/89 for the most part and would resurface again in the early 90s just before my hitch was up and I was returning to civilian life. Many of these sets I never opened and although I have obtained numerous duplicates over the years by scouring dollar bins, some sets are still not in my collection and many I have never actually seen all of the cards from. That being said, it is a little hard to pick a favorite from the sets when I actually have not even seen them all, but I will select one that stands out for me anyway.

1986 Topps Woolworth Super Stars
Bill Madlock

This is my favorite boxed set card because for whatever reason I either didn't have or didn't open the set and had not seen the card until a few years ago. Madlock doesn't have many Dodger cards to begin with and I believe this is just a spectacular action shot, reminiscent of the early 70s Topps action cards that I love so much. it is also a fairly decent design, compared to many of those boxed sets. Again, maybe this is because they were less common to me, where as the other designs seem to be dime a dozen, so they appear to be better. A few other designs stand out for me later, but by that time the boxed set craze was dying off.