Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Newbie Prospecting questions +Random prize

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

cfind

Jun 10, 2010
Hi guys,
I just had a few questions I was hoping to get your input on since I'm new to baseball. And as a thank you for your input and putting up with me, I have a small package I'll send to a random poster!

1) Is it safe to assume that if an Ebay seller has several graded cards for sale, that the raw versions they have were potentially graded but did not meet the minimum grade? The reason why I ask is there are a few sellers I noticed who had a bunch of raw cards for sale, then pulled, then a week later relisted but this time slabbed, though some were back on still raw.

2) Percentage wise, what color refractor nets the most profit? I realize Gold's and Blue's are very popular, but Red's and Oranges are more rare.

3) At what point would you no longer consider a card to be mint?
I've purchased almost 70 cards in the last month, most listed as mint but the condition of the cards have varied from severely off center, multiple scratches, to flawless.

4) When is the optimum time to sell, or the safest time to sell a prospect? I've been thinking about this one and there are so many stages in a players career, I'm not sure what to think. When they've been promoted to a higher class, had statistically dominant game, called up to the Majors, after they've played a few games in the bigs, etc...

5) Pitcher or hitter? Which do you prefer and why?

Last one:

I'm just about done my 2010 Bowman USA Refractor set. I kind of let it go wild and ended up with multiple copies of several players, most of which are either Gold or Orange refractors. I'm still Harperless, but I'm okay with that. So my questions are: