Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

The downside of Ebay

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JoshHamilton

Aug 7, 2008
This is somewhat off topic, and isn't about shill bidding, fake patches, fees, or anything of the sort.

As many of you know, I'm a horror movie nut. I've actually started collecting horror DVDs. I think I have around 150 or so. Much like cards, some are easy to find, some aren't. Some are serially numbered. Some have been out of print for a decade or more. And much like cards, there are numerous different DVDs of Friday the 13th...much like there are many different Pujols cards. Not all cards of the same player, or DVDs of the same movie, are equal.

Since I'm relatively new to this hobby, I'm collecting in an old school manner - hitting up used record stores, swap meets, pawn shops, hoping to land an occasional OOP steal at best buy, trading on Internet discussion groups. 99% of these movies can be found on EBay. I don't care. I'd rather drive around town on a Saturday afternoon searching for a movie I haven't been able to locate for several months. I probably pay 1.5-3x more than eBay. But you know what? I we t out and busted my ass to find it. I get much more satisfaction from that than hopping online and making two clicks to buy it. At least in this new hobby, the thrill of the chase is still there.

Same with cards, kinda. I searched for several years for a 97 Finest gold embossed ref Conine. Then one popped up on eBay and all it took was a few seconds to buy it. Don't get me wrong I love the card, but it means very little to me. The 1988 Best minor league card worth two cents means more to me by far. Never found it in a shop, finally had to go through the SCD classifieds in 95 and call dozens of dealers to finally locate it.