Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Question for the Board Vintage Guru(s)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

UpTheAlley

Sep 26, 2009
North Carolina
Question:
A vintage newbie here!
Is there any reference source available that tracks card valuations over 1yr, 2yr, 5yr etc between PSA & SGC?
Secondly,
Pro's ---Con's between an PSA graded vintage and an SGC graded vintage in regards to strengths in preserving said card's market valuation /insurable interest over the same time frames?

Any and all input appreciated!

Thanks!

jay1065

Aug 7, 2008
Lowell, MA
UpTheAlley said:
Is there any reference source available that tracks card valuations over 1yr, 2yr, 5yr etc between PSA & SGC?

http://www.vintagecardprices.com/

I'm not sure how far back they will track a card or set, however.

UpTheAlley said:
Pro's ---Con's between an PSA graded vintage and an SGC graded vintage in regards to strengths in preserving said card's market valuation /insurable interest over the same time frames?

Economic factors aside, I believe post-WWII PSA slabbed cards will hold their value slightly more than SGC based on the popularity of their registry. As for prewar, I would go with SGC.

fkw

May 28, 2010
Kea'au, HI
If you can list a few cards as examples it would be easier to answer the question more specifically...

It all depends on the vintage card... some are extremely common and exist in numbers of 5,000++ examples known, and some are unique, where only a single example is known (ie Holland Ice Cream Peckinpaugh, Just So Cy Young, T231 Frank Baker, etc.).