Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Pitching Tips?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ethanbryer

Jun 22, 2010
So. Missouri
Right now we are lifting weights and throwing indoors getting ready for the season,
im a freshman so this is my first year playing serious baseball.
when we throw indoors all we do is pitch, now i can throw a strike, and i can throw at max 60-65? maybe.
but i cant keep it consistent, i can throw about 2-3 good ones, then throw 10 bad ones. i dont get what im doing wrong. any tips from your experiences.

zbdub808

Nov 12, 2010
first keep mechanics you are comfortable with don't do too much as having a high leg kick a small one works fine as well, keep your body perpendicular to the catcher with your shoulders square...when in your leg kick don't focus on one spot just try and hit an area when you release that is when you want to pinpoint your location...don't squeeze the ball but don't let it fall out of your hand...keep a strong mental game that is really key

voteEjordan

Jul 10, 2010
Washington DC
When I played ball in HS my coach gave me a book called "How to Pitch Like a Pro" by Braves Pitching Coach Leo Mazzone. Goes over a lot of grips and some of the mental things along with suggested workouts I believe... Its ~$10 or less on Amazon, might help out.

howardpwr06

May 13, 2010
Pennsylvania
There are a few mechanics that need to be in place to throw a strike (or at least throw it where you want it). I play Division II college baseball and we are drilled about specific parts of the pitching motion that need to be correct.

First, work on balancing your leg kick. This is one of the most important things. Try throwing at about 60% and pause for 2 seconds on your leg kick. This will help the muscle memory to remain balanced.