Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Raw vs Graded Card Market?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

autorook

Jan 30, 2011
California
I'm quite new to the whole idea of grading (BGS and PSA) but I've noticed on ebay typically see a 50%-100% increase on near mint graded cards.

So my question is why don't more people do it? Wouldn't you want to protect your investment?

Thanks

200lbhockeyplayer

Aug 10, 2008
The only premium on modern cards is a gem mint grade - either BGS 9.5 or PSA 10.

Anything less (mint 9s and lower) will probably not sell for much (if anything) over a raw card of similar look.

autorook

Jan 30, 2011
California
Can't you pay for a BGS Review to make sure a card grades 9.5 or better? Seen quite a few plastic covered on them online of them.

f2tornado

Aug 14, 2008
Grand Forks, ND
Bear in mind the cost of grading does reduce those margins. This includes submission fees and shipping to and from the grader. Further, most modern non gem grades will further reduce overall margin. A frequent submitter can lose without a good eye for detail.

mredsox89

Aug 29, 2008
Miami/Boston
autorook said:
Can't you pay for a BGS Review to make sure a card grades 9.5 or better? Seen quite a few plastic covered on them online of them.

But then you end up paying $15 for a slab, half to cover the RCR, half to actually get it slabbed.

RiceLynnEvans75

Feb 9, 2010
NOVA