Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Quick tax question about hobby expenses...not hard either

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tommyfro21

Aug 8, 2008
I'm not a tax expert by any stretch but I figured someone on here knows this.

When you list hobby expenses, does that include every card you buy for your hobby or is it only for expenses such as shipping, eBay, paypal, cost of cards sold that you purchased that same year, etc? I am assuming that just because I buy a card, it cannot be claimed as an expenses unless I sold it.

I know people will say not to go to a message board, but go to an accountant. I just thought I would ask real quick to see if anyone knew.

Thanks in advance for the help!

mmalone999

Feb 18, 2011
Do you make money collecting cards? If so, then you should start a company and run it as a business. Go ahead and incorprate or get a dba and become legit. If you run it as a business you can deduct expenses in excess of your income. For example, you spent $10000 buying inventory, setting up a website to sell, mileage, etc, and you ended up generating revenues of $8000. For your tax return, you could claim a $2000 loss (cash basis) which would create a tax benefit for you.

If you do not make money....whatever income you make will be offset by your expenses...but only enough to make you break even. You cannot deduct expenses in excess of your income from a hobby. For example, lets say you spent $4000 buying cards and then sold cards for $2000. You would report $2000 in income and $4000 in expenses, but according to the code you will end up a net zero. A hobby cannot generate a benefit for you for tax purposes.

HTH

jrb

Mar 1, 2011
San Mateo, CA