Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Card photography...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

GKreindler

Sep 6, 2011
Brooklyn, NY
Hey all,

I hope this message finds everybody well. I originally posted this in the vintage cards section, but I thought I'd try my luck here as well.

I was wondering if anybody on this forum might know who some of the original photographers were for the 1953 Bowman set. For those of you unfamiliar with those cards, here are a few:

MickeyMantle1953Bowman.jpg

DukeSnider1953Bowman.jpg

AllieReynolds1953Bowman.jpg

These photo have always been favorites of mine, and I would very much love to track down some high-res photos of them is possible. Though, it's not necessarily for display purposes.

I am an artist who specializes in painting historical baseball scenes, most of which lie in the first half of the 20th century. Being a stickler for historical accuracy, these kinds photos are invaluable resources for my work, especially since blowing the images up from small cards isn't really an option.

Anywho, certainly ANY information you can provide is greatly appreciated. Here are some examples of my work to give you an idea of what I do.

Ty_Cobb_1908_April_14.jpg

Ty Cobb, April 14, 1908, 40" x 62"

Christy_Mathewson_1911.jpg

Christy Mathewson, 1911, 26" x 36"

Lou_Gehrig_1936_Portrait_Conlon.jpg

Lou Gehrig, 1936, 16" x 20"

Ted_Williams_1939_May_30.jpg

Ted Williams, May 30, 1939, 34" x 62"

Willie_Mays_1955_Portrait.jpg

Willie Mays, 1955, 9" x 12"

Derek_Jeter_2000.jpg

Derek Jeter, 2000, 11" x 14"

And I suppose if you want to know of my website, PM me and I'll send ya a link.

Thanks everyone!

Graig

Gwynn545

Aug 29, 2008
North Seattle
Holy crap! :shock: :shock:
I am sorry to say I did not know your work before, but I am instantly a huge fan! Great work!!