Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Is it worth it???

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Carli5le

Jul 20, 2013
WA
Got an estimate from Beckett on a 50 card submission. I know that slabs raise the value of the card if they are returned at a high grade, but I have NEVER done this before personally so I'm a little hesitant to do so.

Most of my cards are bowman chrome autos. 45/50 are certified autos, which tacks on an additional $2 per card.

Here are the purchasing details:
20-day @ $9 per card
Returned shipping $20
Return insurance $1-1000 $9
Certified auto surcharge $2 per card
A "Purchasing fee" of $25
And since I'm a first customer, they give me $50 off
So in total, it's going to cost me $544 to get 50 cards graded

I have the following Bowman Chrome cards lined up to get graded:
Blue /150: 2
Blue /250: 2
Refractor /500: 7 cards
Base: 32 cards
The rest are miscellaneous certified autos (the majority being the bowman chrome certified)

Please leave your advice as to what you would do in a similar situation. Are the base cards worth getting slabbed? They are decently high end prospects - Heaney, Biddle, Olt, Walker, Edwards, etc. I'm getting the blue and refractors slabbed for sure, but with the base cards, the $544 is a daunting number and I don't want to get caught up in the moment and just send them in because I have them. Thanks everyone!

Also have the option of doing a BGS submission on this website, but it's still going to cost me $500

predatorkj

Aug 7, 2008
If it were me, I'd only do it of I felt all adds in question would be at least 9's and if I could turn around and sell a good handful of the base to recoup my costs and sit on the rest. If this doesn't seem like a possibility then no.

MartinFFcollector

Aug 7, 2008
CA.