I went to the Rockies game last night. It was great fun with beautiful weather and Arenado's walk-off double.
I always score the game when I go, and I believe that if you pay attention you will always see something that you've never seen before. That happened last night.
Recap: Bottom of the 3rd inning, there is a player on 1st with one out. The pitcher, Franklin Morales, comes up and naturally bunts. Not a great bunt, right back to the pitcher, but enough to get the job done. Bumgarner fields it, thinks about going to second base, but turns and fires a perfect throw to first. The second baseman is covering the bag, but the first baseman Morse cuts off the throw. He may have thought the bag wasn't covered, or he may not havew thought at all and just caught the ball reactively. In any case, Morales was safe at first and the baserunner moved to 2nd.
The play can be seen here after a short commercial
Now, I was adamant at the time that this could NOT be ruled a hit, (I was ready to put E3 on my scorecard), but it was indeed ruled so and seems to have stood up as such. My thinking was that a bunt hit directly at the pitcher cannot be a hit. It may be a FC or an E, but a hit it ain't. However, I guess if the 'hit' caused the infiled to react in such a way as to allow the bunter to reach, it's a hit? Also, lapses in judgement (as Morse seemed to have here) are not usually classified as errors.
In short, this still feels like an E3 to me, but I'm ready to accept it as a hit this morning after calm (sober) deliberation.
Anyone have thoughts on this? I would love to hear them. It is unimportant to the outcome of the game, and may be boring minutiae to many, but this kind of thing is a big reason why I love to go to the ballpark (and keep score).
I also love beer and walkoff hometeam wins, but lots of people who aren't baseball nerds love those too.