Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

OT: Thoughts about this Tom Brady card

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

smapdi

Aug 7, 2008
Sorry for posting it here but the football forum is a ghost town. But it has relevance to baseball and other sports. This card is up for auction: PSA 10 2000 Playoff Contenders Rookie Ticket Tom Brady

At this moment, it's bid up to $110,000. I'm not an expert in that set, but it does not appear to be serial-numbered. Just before the Super Bowl last year, the one the Philadelphia Eagles won by beating said Patriots, Fly Eagles Fly, Make Tom Brady Cry, a BGS 9.0 of the #/100 parallels sold for $250,000. I've always kind of doubted that sale, but many anonymous people on the internet insist it was. Then the Trout Super sold for $400,000, although the buyer and seller have shady reputations. The seller of this card is Probstein.

I feel I must diverge into the legitimacy of the bidding first. The current Brady card has four bidders over $100,000. Looking at bidding records, one is very dubious (the current underbidder at 474 FB has 30% bidding activity with Probstein, including 12 retractions). Two of the others are a little odd, with 75% and 83% bid activity with Probstein. The 83% guy has placed 18 bids on just two items, and made 2 bid retractions. Hmmm.... The 75% guy has also only bid on 2 items, with 3 of his 4 bids going to Probstein items. The fourth guy, with 80 FB, has bid on several different items, mostly cards but also a handbag, and only 9% of his 44 bids have been with Probstein.