User Tag List

Thread: Some vintage grading questions

Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Some vintage grading questions

Here are some vintage cards I'm thinking of getting graded. I'm new at this so any advice is welcomed.

This Cochrane is pretty nice except for the discoloration on the top right. I always thought that it was shading on the original card, but I don't see it when I look at high-grade examples. I guess it is some kind of gum stain or something. How much will this effect the potential grade?

This Marquard is definitely worthy of grading. Should I go PDA or SGC? I like PSA but I see a lot of t206 cards in SGC holders. Is there a big difference in sale value? It may be a moot point as I probably want to hold on to it.

This Aaron is sweet too, but how much will the OC top to bottom hurt the grade?

Finally, does this card look as sweet as I think it looks? With thise black borders, these have to be a tough grade. This isn't a terribly valuable card, but should I send it in? What grade is needed to bump the price up, and would this card get that grade?

Thanks for looking!
    HOF auto collector - I'm up to 258 different in my collection (used to have a photobucket link here, but photobucket sucks)

GO ROCKIES!

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: Some vintage grading questions

Go with SGC for all of them IMO. Your 33 Goudey might get a lower surface grade thus lowering the overall grade a little bit. (Besides the stain it looks to be in really nice shape)

The Aaron looks to be in very good shape, and the centering will hurt it a little bit (at most 2 pts lower)

The last card would be too bad to get graded, since it's a RC card...But would need a scan of the back to get a better range of grade.

Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by scotty21690