Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Finished cataloging my run of Topps sets

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

deaconblues63

Oct 25, 2012
I posted earlier that I have a nice run of Topps Flagship sets from 1973 - 2015, including the Traded/Update sets.

From going through all 43 sets, I have got to relive a lot of memories and found out some things that I didn't know.

1) I am really proud of the condition that my sets are in. My 1973 set looks as nice as my 2015 set.

2) I am really surprised at the value of some of the insert sets I have collected. I have a lot of Hobby Masters, Own the Game and other sets that aren't particularly valuable, but other sets that I thought would have been junk have some nice value to them. I have a 110 card run of 2004 Topps Traded Checklists that I would have though was worthless, but has some good value. The 2004 Topps Fall Classic Programs set is very nice. The 2006 Declaration of Independence set is nice as is the 2008 Campaign set. Just a lot of insert sets that I thought were worthless actually have some decent value to them.

3) Some of the Topps Traded/Update sets are insane. I was shocked to see how much my 1982 Traded set has appreciated and I remember agonizing over the cost of the purchase in the early 90s. The number of sets from 2000 on that are valuable is crazy. These are all sets that I might have $15 to $30 into and they are now worth hundreds and hundreds of dollars.

This has been a fun project.

deaconblues63

Oct 25, 2012
I forgot one point.

4) Almost without exception, all Autographs and Relics from these sets are relatively worthless. Game used of guys like Pujols and Ichiro sell for relatively little. Very few of the autographs have any value at all either. I found just a handful of nice ones.

nevermore

Aug 7, 2008
New York