Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Rules question re: throwing hat/glove

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Junior Griffey

New member
Aug 12, 2008
4,145
3
Ottawa IL
I'm watching the Cubs game and the announcer made mention of a rule that says if a player intentionally throws his hat or glove to stop a ball from going further that the batter automatically gets 3 bases. Does anyone remember the last time this actually happened?
 

katieneack

Member
Apr 7, 2012
651
0
Northern Kentucky
That is indeed the rule, but I don;t remember ever seeing it happen. There is also a rule I believe that says on a ground rule double it is up to the umpires discretion whether a batter on first base gets 3rd or home. I have never once seen an umpire award the player home though. Has anyone ever seen that either?
 

383astro

New member
Jan 13, 2009
996
0
Oklahoma
That is indeed the rule, but I don;t remember ever seeing it happen. There is also a rule I believe that says on a ground rule double it is up to the umpires discretion whether a batter on first base gets 3rd or home. I have never once seen an umpire award the player home though. Has anyone ever seen that either?

Ive always just heard them give 2 bases to everyone.
 

katieneack

Member
Apr 7, 2012
651
0
Northern Kentucky
Me too. My dad's friend was an umpire and a college coach for 30+ years and he complains about this every time there is a ground rule double. He swears that the rule book states it is up to the umpire - I believe him because he seems to know every rule. Would love to see what would happen if an umpire actually called it. Back to the initial thread question - i wonder what would happen if a guy through his glove and stopped a ball that would have been a homerun. Would he get 3 bases or a homerun?
 

Hendersonfan

New member
May 2, 2011
4,118
0
Buckeye Country
I would say if the player threw his glove and the ball went over the fence it should be a home run. Only instance I can a player getting 3 bases on a ground rule double is if they were stealing on the pitch?

Sent from my DROID X2 using Sports Cards by Freedom Card Board.com
 

katieneack

Member
Apr 7, 2012
651
0
Northern Kentucky
I would say if the player threw his glove and the ball went over the fence it should be a home run. Only instance I can a player getting 3 bases on a ground rule double is if they were stealing on the pitch?

Sent from my DROID X2 using Sports Cards by Freedom Card Board.com

I meant if he threw his glove at the ball and somehow hit it and kept the ball from going over the fence. That would be interesting to see.
 

fsulevine

Member
Mar 5, 2011
517
0
Tallahassee, FL
I went to Wendlestedt Umpire School in 1996. 1) A batter and all runners are awarded 3 bases from the time of the pitch if a defensive player uses equipment illegally (removes hat and uses it, throws glove at it AND makes contact with the ball in either case) when it is a BATTED ball. If it is a thrown ball, such as trying to stop a wild throw, the batter and all runners are awarded 2 bases from the time of the infraction. If a catcher takes off his mask and uses it to secure a wild pitch, all runners get 2 bases. All runners, including the batter-runner, get 2 bases on a ground rule double. Period. No option for a runner on first to be awarded home at all. Now, FAN INTERFERENCE is DIFFERENT than a ground rule double. When fan interference occurs (often misconstrued as a ground rule double, but they are different things), the umpires award the batter and each runner whatever base in their judgment would have been safely reached had the fan interference not occurred. Do not confuse ground rule double with fan interference, as they are two entirely different things.

Also, when a thrown glove contacts a ball in flight that is determined by the umpires would have gone over the fence had the illegal use of the glove not prevented it from doing so, obviously they will award the home run.
 
Last edited:

UMich92

Well-known member
Sep 18, 2008
1,878
56
I went to Wendlestedt Umpire School in 1996. 1) A batter and all runners are awarded 3 bases from the time of the pitch if a defensive player uses equipment illegally (removes hat and uses it, throws glove at it AND makes contact with the ball in either case) when it is a BATTED ball. If it is a thrown ball, such as trying to stop a wild throw, the batter and all runners are awarded 2 bases from the time of the infraction. If a catcher takes off his mask and uses it to secure a wild pitch, all runners get 2 bases. All runners, including the batter-runner, get 2 bases on a ground rule double. Period. No option for a runner on first to be awarded home at all. Now, FAN INTERFERENCE is DIFFERENT than a ground rule double. When fan interference occurs (often misconstrued as a ground rule double, but they are different things), the umpires award the batter and each runner whatever base in their judgment would have been safely reached had the fan interference not occurred. Do not confuse ground rule double with fan interference, as they are two entirely different things.

Also, when a thrown glove contacts a ball in flight that is determined by the umpires would have gone over the fence had the illegal use of the glove not prevented it from doing so, obviously they will award the home run.

I distinctly recall Mike Heath of the Tigers blocking a pitch in the dirt and after popping off his mask he realized the ball was only a few feet away and he reached for it with his mask. Umpire called the play dead and awarded the runner home (from 2nd or 3rd, can't remember). That's when I learned the rule.

My summer league had a similar play occur this year. With a runner on 2nd, I threw a pitch in the dirt that our catcher blocked. The ball rolled past the batter and since the play appeared over the batter reached out and courteously tapped the ball back towards our catcher with his bat. The umpire ruled interference and called the batter out.
 

Tom Oates

Active member
Sep 15, 2008
1,673
0
I went to Wendlestedt Umpire School in 1996. 1) A batter and all runners are awarded 3 bases from the time of the pitch if a defensive player uses equipment illegally (removes hat and uses it, throws glove at it AND makes contact with the ball in either case) when it is a BATTED ball. If it is a thrown ball, such as trying to stop a wild throw, the batter and all runners are awarded 2 bases from the time of the infraction. If a catcher takes off his mask and uses it to secure a wild pitch, all runners get 2 bases. All runners, including the batter-runner, get 2 bases on a ground rule double. Period. No option for a runner on first to be awarded home at all. Now, FAN INTERFERENCE is DIFFERENT than a ground rule double. When fan interference occurs (often misconstrued as a ground rule double, but they are different things), the umpires award the batter and each runner whatever base in their judgment would have been safely reached had the fan interference not occurred. Do not confuse ground rule double with fan interference, as they are two entirely different things.

Also, when a thrown glove contacts a ball in flight that is determined by the umpires would have gone over the fence had the illegal use of the glove not prevented it from doing so, obviously they will award the home run.


BINGO! We have a winner. It has to be Intentional and!!! actually make contact with the ball. I see so many little league and softball umpires get this wrong. Twice as a shortstop I have leaped into the air to try and catch a line drive hit directly over my head and my glove literally slips off my hand and goes flying straight up in the air. Both times the umpire called me for throwing my glove. 1) Unintentional 2) I did not make contact with the ball !!! Even when you explain the rule, they still think you are making it up. If your going to take money from the league to umpire... RTFM!!!

Tom
 

FromKoufaxtoEdwin

New member
Aug 15, 2008
212
0
I believe Duaner Sanchez did this in a game a few years back when he was with the Dodgers. I want to say it was in Arizona against the D-Backs and he threw his glove on a chopper up the middle and it made contact with the ball.
 

Members online

Latest posts

Top