Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Preserving an auto on a ball

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ripken2131_8

Feb 4, 2011
Savannah, GA
Hey guys

I have a ball my dad got signed by Cal several years ago and over time the auto has faded significantly. I currently keep it in a ball cube in one of my locked safes, so light obviously isn't what's causing it. I'm assuming it's just from a crappy pen. Is there anything I can do to keep if from further deterioration?

file-5.jpg

nofrills

Nov 1, 2010
Toronto, Ontario
Not that i'm an expert or anything, but I think it has more to do with the type of ball rather than the pen in this case.
A ROMLB ball is real leather, which holds the ink better. That ball isn't an official, and I think it's some sort of vinyl or other covering which prevents the ink from adhering well.
Not so sure there is anything that can be done at this point. Hopefully, I'm wrong here.

MartinFFcollector

Aug 7, 2008
CA.
I had a ball just like that. Cheap ball and it kept fading more and more. Sorry to hear.

Then I recently realized the ball I had tucked away, grew some spots. Ugh.

attachment.php

attachment.php

matfanofold

Aug 10, 2008
I've never tried it, but I've heard rubbing a ball down with baby powder, wraping in that thin paper they come in, and keeping in a dry, dark, climate controled place will preserve an auto for a long time...

PujolsCollector

Jan 17, 2011
St.Louis
I've never tried it, but I've heard rubbing a ball down with baby powder, wraping in that thin paper they come in, and keeping in a dry, dark, climate controled place will preserve an auto for a long time...