Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

1940 Play Ball Authentic or reprint? EDIT new card added.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RandomH

1940 Play Ball Authentic or reprint?.. (BACK FROM THE DEAD) RESULTS

EDIT: Check the last page for results. This thread finally has a conflusion!

Hey guys, as some of you know I purchased a lot of two autographed lefty gomez index cards and it included a "old baseball card" for 10.50$ dlvd.
$(KGrHqR,!j!E1NPEVRk1BNcr6Kwsuw~~_12.jpg

The card in the picture was a 1940 play ball of Gomez. Now the only question is if it's a reprint or not?
I got the lot in the mail today and the card seems a bit iffy? Like the back seems really sharp. Seems too good to be true. I'm thinking reprint.

I'm NO vintage expert so I would love to hear some thoughts on if this card is real or not.
Here is a scan of the front and of the back.
gomezfront.jpg
gomezback.jpg

Thanks a bunch!

EDIT: Check the last page for results. This thread finally has a conflusion!

Last edited:

jeff_bichel

Nov 4, 2010
Houston, Texas
Re: 1940 Play Ball Authentic or reprint?

I gotta tell ya, looking at the age discoloration on the front and comparing font styles, I think you got really lucky.
I believe it to either be real or an incredible, impossible fake

Moonlight Graham

Aug 7, 2008
Renton, WA

Interesting that there seems to be fade marks on the front of the card in the upper left corner and lower right corner, seemingly suggesting that the card appears to have been mounted in a photo album.

RandomH

I really appreciate all the thoughts guys! The front seems kinda okay, but the back has me confused. I mean I paid 10 dollars for it so it's not a huge loss if it's a reprint. I will check back on this thread when I get home later. Thanks again FCB :grouphug:

gracecollector

Aug 7, 2008