Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Possible new set project. 2009 O-Pee-Chee

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

klute14

Dec 4, 2008
Maine
I am at an impasse with my collection right now.
My player collections are pretty mature with not a lot of new items for me to obtain.
My other big set, 2002 Donruss Originals, is almost 10 years old and the remaining cards are getting tougher to find.
I am not a prospector so anything Bowman doesn't appeal to me.
What does appeal to me is the size of the set and the look.
Saying that, I am intrigued by the 2009 Upper Deck O-Pee-Chee set. The overall look of the cards takes me back to my childhood and from a very basic standpoint, I like the card stock.
I have 4 unopened Hobby Boxes @ home waiting to be broken. In reviewing the checklist, there doesn't appear to be any serial #'d cards.
There are some tough parallels, i.e., black mini, mini and blank backs, that are SP's.
My question is, How much was this product broken? It doesn't appear to be readily available on the secondary market.
It looks fun and like the Originals set, takes me back to my youth.

Thoughts?

DeliciousBacon

Apr 23, 2011
Warwick, RI
I opened a lot of OPC, and still haven't finished the set. Kept getting a lot of doubles and triples of base, and never hitting the same handful of base cards that I really needed to finish. The black minis are hard to find, and I've never pulled or seen one of the blank backs in person. My guess is that low interest keeps this stuff from being more available; one shop in my area still has the same unopened boxes and packs that they did in 2009 (they won't discount it so it will sit there forever).

I have an appalling amount of base extras if you need some help with the set.

smapdi

Aug 7, 2008