Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

My latest project

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

17ROCKIES12

Aug 13, 2008
I've grown sick of how this hobby is becoming all about money. I feel like collectors associate cards with their value instead of appreciating what they really are. I've decided to do something that I've always wanted to and I've been working for about 2 months now. I've been buying and sorting singles. I have about 30k that I'm working on now. They are all sorted by the letter of the player's last name. About 75% of the cards are sorted by each individual player. I'm creating a file for each player and putting their card(s) inside of it. It can become a mess at times, but its a ton of fun. It's relaxing looking through cards, learning about the players, appreciating designs, actually enjoying some of the great pictures. It doesn't matter what these cards are worth to me. I know the would sell for next to nothing, but they can provide hours and hours of enjoyment. Finding cards for TTM or IP autographs is amazing with this set up. I'm sure I'll be able to help player collectors out as well.

2udxj4o.jpg
19mcjl.jpg
2n1u8b4.jpg
ncclxg.jpg

Comments or questions welcome...

17ROCKIES12

Aug 13, 2008
mlbfan10 said:
very nice man! I need to sit down and do this to.
Thanks. It takes a ton of time. Once I have finish the whole alphabet I'm hoping it'll be much easier to maintain when it comes to filing away my new cars.

matty07

Aug 7, 2008
Hamilton, Canada
I have to agree 100% with everything you have stated. This is the main reason I just lost interest in collecting. The hobby is completely based on money/value, and its all about "did I get a good deal so I can flip). The major thing also is the outrageous box prices but thats a completely different story.